Women’s national team determined to show their strength in Asian Cup

Women’s national team determined to show their strength in Asian Cup

Indonesian Women’s National Team coach Rudy Eka Priyambada stressed that her team will fight as hard as they can in Group B of the 2022 Asian Cup, which is populated by tough opponents Australia, Thailand and the Philippines.

“We have to focus and work hard to show the best of the Asian Cup later,” said Rudy, quoted in the PSSI press release received Thursday (10/28).

Australia, Thailand and the Philippines are the three experienced teams in the Women’s Asian Cup.

Read also: PSSI will take strict measures against the players in the correction of scores

Including the 2022 edition, Australia has appeared in the competition eight times, while Thailand has 17 and the Philippines 10. As for Indonesia, only five times.

In terms of achievements, Australia were tournament champions in 2010, Thailand won in 1983 and the Philippines were the sixth ranked team in 2018.

Meanwhile, Indonesia, which last competed in the Women’s Asian Cup in 1989, had its best achievements as a semi-finalist in 1977 and 1986.

National Women’s Team captain Ade Mustikiana admits Group B is a tough group.

However, Ade assures that he and his colleagues will try to show maximum performance in the tournament.

“I have never faced a team like Australia, I had met Thailand and the Philippines by participating in several tournaments. However, my friends and I will try to look solid and stay optimistic,” Ade said.

The 2022 AFC Women’s Asian Cup, which takes place in India from January 20 to February 6, 2022, will bring together 12 countries divided into three groups.

Based on Thursday’s draw, Group A includes host nations India, China, Taiwan and Iran.

Then, in Group B, there are Australia, Thailand, the Philippines and Indonesia.

While Japan, South Korea, Vietnam and Myanmar are in Group C.

The winners and the group classified second will advance to the quarter-finals with the two best thirds. After that, the competition continued until the semi-finals and finals. (Ant / OL-1)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *